Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

This Saturday sees the Premier Interschool’s showcase the second of its 12 derby matches for the season.

Paul Roos make the short trip to neighbours Paarl for one of their biggest and toughest clashes of their local season.

Both teams are coming of victories in their previous games. The home team got a good win against highly rated Boland Landbou and will take confidence into Saturday’s clash. Paul Roos in turn also had a very good win against Grey High of Port Elizabeth and will look to maintain their good form.

Both teams suffered one loss during the season so far. Paarl Gim lost to Garsfontein in their North vs South derby and Paul Roos lost to Affies at St Johns festival over the Easter weekend. Paul Roos looks extremely dangerous in the backs while their forwards are solid. Paarl Gim as always have a big pack of forwards that likes to dominate their opponents and silky backs who can run a team ragged. With this said this weekend’s game wil again be a cracker affair between two very proud rugby schools.These two schools share a long and rich history in rugby. The first record of old boys of the two schools played together for SA was way back on 24th November 1906. That day Steve Joubert was the first of many Gimmies to represent his country and his Bok captain was Paul Roos himself when the Springboks played Ireland in Belfast.

Results the last 5 years:

Date Paul Roos Paarl Gim
2011/05/14 34 30
2012/05/12 8 28
2013/05/11 15 24
2014/05/10 16 10
2015/05/16 21 23

The game will be televised live on SelSA (channel 210) at 13.55

You can also catch the build-up Premier Interschools Magazine Show from Thursday April 14 at 07:00 on SuperSport 8 featuring Ernst Joubert and Pieter Rossouw

Schedule Date Schedule Time Duration Channel Name
Thursday, 14 April, 2016 07:00 00:15:00 SS6 / SS6A
Thursday, 14 April, 2016 13:15 00:15:00 SS1 / SS1A
Friday, 15 April, 2016 23:45 00:15:00 SS5 / SS5A / SS5N
Saturday, 16 April, 2016 07:45 00:15:00 SS8

Paarl Gim Rugby History:

Paarl Gym is without a doubt one of the Big Five of rugby schools in South Africa. They have to date produced 28 Springboks of which 18 have been capped in tests for South Africa.

Gimnasiums Test Springboks

Player Debut Year
Steve Joubert 1906
Pierie de Villiers 1928
JC van der Westhuizen 1928
Jan Pickard 1953
Hugo van Zyl 1958
Wynand Mans 1965
Schalk Burger Snr 1984
Kobus Burger 1989
Kobus Wiese 1993
Balie Swart 1993
Mornay Visser 1995
Pieter Rossouw 1997
De Wet Barry 2000
Louis Koen 2000
Marius Joubert 2001
Jean de Villiers 2002
Schalk Burger 2003
Ashley Johnson 2011
Lourens Adriaanse 2013
Handre Pollard 2014

Their biggest rivals is Paarl Boys High situated in the Southern Paarl. Their annual Interschools have the unofficial title of “Biggest Interschools” in South Africa.

In 2012, while still at school, their captain and pivot Handre Pollard represented South Africa at the u/20 World Cup tournament with aplomb. Called up for the injured Johan Goosen, Pollard played a vital role in SA winning the final against New Zealand. He again represented the Junior Boks in 2013 and captained the side in 2014. The young man is currently plying his trade with the Blue Bulls Super15 team and in 2014 he became Paarl Gym’s 20th Springbok.

Paul Roos Rugby History

The words Paul Roos and rugby are synonymous as the great man was the originator of the now famous Springbok emblem and name for the South African national team. He is seen by many as the “father” of South African rugby and it is fitting that the school that carries his name is such a powerhouse in South African schools rugby.

Paul Roos has to date produced the most South African players to represent their country on a rugby field with Juandre Kruger becoming their 50th player when he played against England at Kingspark on June 9th 2012. Their latest Springbok is fullback Willie Le Roux who got his test cap against Italy in June 2013.

The following players from Paul Roos represented South Africa on the rugby field:

Arthur Nicholas de Kock (1891), Jacob Stephanus (Japie) Louw (1891), James Alexander (Jim) McKendrick (1891), Robert (Bob) Shand, Paul Johannes de Waal (1896), Japie Krige (1896), Bob Loubser (1896), Pieter Albertus Ryno Otto (PO) Nel (1903), Paul Johannes Roos (1903), Koei Brink (1906), Henry John (Pinkie) Daneel (1906), Boy de Villiers (1906), Freddie Luyt (1910), Dick Luyt (1910), Koot Reynecke (1910), Gideon Daniël Roos (1910), Wakkie Krige (1912), John Douglas Luyt (1912), Tom van Vuuren (1912), Nic du Plessis (1921), Theuns Kruger (1921), Charlé Meyer (1921), Mannetjies Michau (1921), Phil Mostert (1921), Tokkie Scholtz (1921), Jackie Tindall(1921), Attie van Heerder (1921), PK Albertyn (1924), Nico Bosman (1924), Daunce Devine (1924), Kenny Starke (1924), George Murray Daneel (1928), Manus de Jongh (1928), AF du Toit (1928), PK Morkel (1928), Boet Prinsloo (1928), Ferdie Bergh (1931), George Lionell van Reenen (1937), Ballie Wahl (1949), Tjol Lategan (1949), Jannie Engelbrecht (1960), Gertjie Brynard (1965), Hempies du Toit (1980), Cabous van der Westhuizen (1994), Justin Swart (1996), Cobus Visagie (1999), Andries Bekker (2008), Schalk Brits (2008), Francois Hougaard (2009), Juandre Kruger (2012),Willie Le Roux (2013)

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats