Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

Gimmies edge Paul Roos

Week two of the Premier Inter-schools competition saw Paarl Gimnasium defeat Paul Roos 28 – 24 in front of their home crowd in Paarl.

Both teams scored 4 tries a piece in a stop start game. The home side dominated up front for most of the match while the visitors made too many mistakes.

Paarl Gim were first on the scoreboard as captain and scrumhalf Zak Burger slipped through the defence to get the first try of the match. Theo Boschoff was on song with the boot succeeding with his first of 4 conversations.Burly Paul Roos Number 8 Bruce Coetzee was next to cross the whitewash after a telling break by Flanker Handre’ du Toit. Damian Willemse slotted the conversation to level the scores.

The home side regained the lead with 6 minutes to play in the first half. Peop Andre’ Booysen crashes over a converted try taking the half time scores to 14-7.

Paul Roos Scrumhalf Tiaan Coetzee scored down the blind side closing the gap to two points. Their captain and SA schools flushed Damian Willemse had a rare bad day off the tee, missing two of his conversations.

Zak Burger then connected with his number 8 to score a converted try. His opposite number Coetzee replied from a strong Paul Roos lineout drive to close the gap to 21-19.

Paarl Gim eightman, Muller Uys, rounded off his well-deserved man of the match performance with a try of his own. Boshoff added the extras to extend their lead to 9 points with 5 minutes to play.

The visitors added some respectability to the score with a late try by replacement Adion Topley. Willemse missed the conversion.


Paarl Gymnasium:
Tries: Zak Burger (2), André Boshoff, Muller Uys
Conversions: Theo Boshoff (4)

Paul Roos:
Tries: Tiaan Coetzee (2), Bruce Coetzee, Aidon Topley
Conversions: Damian Willemse (2)

Man of the match: Muller Uys


Paarl Gimnasium:
1 André Booysen, 2 Sehan du Toit, 3 Francois Staples, 4 Adriaan Ludick, 5 Raymond Nel, 6 Janus Swart, 7 Ryno Beukes, 8 Muller Uys, 9 Zak Burger (C), 10 Theo Boshoff, 11 Muller du Plessis, 12 Wian van Niekerk, 13 Christopher Willemse, 14 Jan Jordaan, 15 Wian van Zyl, 16 Michael Houndsome, 17 Daniël Wessels, 18 Bryan Buitendag, 19 Henco Martins, 20 Bernu Engelbrecht, 21 Juvan Robinson, 22 Reinhardt Louw

Paul Roos:
1 Martin Louw, 2 Daneel Steinman, 3 Tristan Leitch, 4 Jesse Johnson, 5 Phillip van Dyk, 6 Hanre du Toit, 7 Johan Joubert, 8 Bruce Coetzee, 9 Tiaan Coetzee, 10 Damian Willemse (C), 11 Aiden Lombard, 12 Lyle Hendricks, 13 Dylan de Villiers, 14 David-Lee Moses, 15 Joshua Vermeulen, 16 Juan-Marc Fryer, 17 Alexander Mbete,18 Pieter Nel, 19 Ben-Jason Dixon, 20 Hans Koetsier, 21 Gerado Jaars, 22 Cobus Joubert, 23 Aidon Topley.

Remaining Premier Interschools 2016 fixtures:

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats