play slot games online at Slots Dad

Paarl Boys High cement top spot

Paarl Boys High confirmed their number one position on the SA Schools rankings after an impressive win against Grey College on Saturday.

The hosts were outstanding at the breakdown but it was their defence which halted the impressive Grey backs that formed the corner stone of their victory.

The hosts were first on the scoreboard through fullback and man of the match, Gianni Lombard, after Grey were trapped for going off their feet. He extended their lead to 6-0 midway through the first half slotting his second penalty.

Grey flyhalf, Christopher Schreuder, succeeded with a penalty of his own minutes later to get the visitors on the score board.Paarl Boys struck back through their speedster, Thakir Abrahams, who danced over in the corner for the first try of the match after some slick handling to take the score to 11-3 at half time.

Grey College were first to score in the second half. Fullback, David Kriel, crashed over for a converted try narrowing the gap to one point with all to play for.

But Paarl Boys High responded when centre, Manuel Rass, broke on the outside to send a flying Gerdre Ferreira over for his first of two tries. Lombard added the extras.

A penalty a piece then took the score to 21-10.

SA Schools centre, Rass, showed his class once again with another brilliant line break. Ferreira pounced on the ball to score his second. Lombard converted to extend their lead to 15 points.

Grey were back in the game when number 8, Dian Scoonies, crashed over from a lineout drive for an unconverted try with ten minutes to go.

But Paarl Boys High’s defence held firm to record a 28-18 victory in front of their home crowd.

Man of the Match:
Gianni Lombard (Paarl Boys High)

Paarl Boys High
Tries: Thakir Abrahams, Gerdre Ferreira (2)
Conv: Gianni Lombard (2)
Pen: Gianni Lombard (3)
Grey College
Tries: David Kriel, Dian Schoonees
Conv: Christopher Schreuder
Pen: Christopher Schreuder (2)

Paarl Boys High:
15 Gianni Lombaard, 14 Urgene Johannes, 13 Manuel Rass, 12 Hanri van Heerden, 11 Takir Abrahams, 10 Rayhaan Lombard, 9 Michael Visser, 8 Khanya Ncusane, 7 Francke Horn, 6 Charl Serdyn, 5 Ewie Loubser, 4 Salmaan Moerat (C), 3 Adam Neethling, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Reece Bezuidenhout
16 Wilhelm Barnard, 17 MJ Strauss, 18 Armandt Conradie, 19 Vian Fourie, 20 Eric Myburgh, 21 Tiaan du Plessis, 22 Gerdre Ferreira, 23 Riaan Barnard
Grey College:
15 David Kriel, 14 Henk Cilliers, 13 Janco van Heyningen, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Marnus Boshoff, 10 Christopher Schreuder, 9 Rewan Kruger, 8 Dian Schoonees, 7 Michiel Burger, 6 Wihan Kloppers, 5 Marcel Theunissen, 4 Jaco van Tonder, 3 Gideo Beukes (C), 2 Ru-Hann Greyling, 1 Tristan Spies
16 Thian du Randt, 17 Naude Naude, 18 WJ Kruger, 19 Arno Niewoudt, 20 Jaco Wessels, 21 Mario Vieira, 22 PR Serfontein, 23 Rian Heyman, 24 Marius Kearney, 25 Johan Wilken

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats