Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

Club rugby stars Christo van Wyk and Dennis Cox are both in line to make their DHL Western Province debut off the replacements bench in the clash with the Hino Valke in Kempton Park on Friday.

Tygerberg prop Van Wyk and Belhar flyhalf Cox have both made a big impression for their respective clubs, and DHL Western Province coach John Dobson is excited to see what they can do at Barnard Stadium in a match that kicks off at 15h00.

“Both of these players are fully deserving of their call-ups after putting in some exceptional performances for their clubs, so we are excited to see what they can offer us,” said Dobson.

They will be joined on the replacements bench by scrumhalf Jano Vermaak and lock David Ribbans, who are both making their return from injury.

Another player returning from injury is Tim Whitehead, who lines up in midfield alongside Johnny Kotze, whilst the only other change to the backline sees JP Lewis start on the left wing.

In the forward pack Janco Venter returns from national duty with Namibia to take his place at flank alongside Luke Stringer, with Jurie van Vuuren shifting to lock, and Kyle Whyte gets an opportunity to start at loosehead prop.

Dobson said that despite a few disruptions the team is in good spirits as they look to add to their eight victories from nine matches this season.“There is a great vibe in the team at the moment, we know we have the ability to win this section of the competition and the players are focused on that goal.

“We know that it will be tough to go up to Kempton Park with so many changes to the team, but it is a good side and we are in a good space so hopefully that will show on the pitch,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Grant Hermanus, 14 Khanyo Ngcukana, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 JP Lewis, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 Jurie van Vuuren, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Kyle Whyte.
Replacements: 16 Cullen Collopy, 17 Christo van Wyk, 18 David Ribbans, 19 Eital Bredenkamp, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Dennis Cox, 22 Devon Williams.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats