Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

There are a number of changes to the DHL Western Province forward pack to face Boland in their SuperSport Rugby Challenge clash in Velddrif on Saturday.

Following wins against the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth and the Border Bulldogs at City Park, coach John Dobson’s team will make the trip up the West Coast for the Cape derby which kicks off at 15h00 on Saturday.

There are two rotational changes in the front row with hooker Dean Muir and prop Wesley Adonis getting their first opportunity to start, with Chad Solomon providing cover on the replacements bench.

In the second row an injury to Jurie van Vuuren means that 19-year-old Ruben de Villiers will pair up with Eddie Zandberg who was ruled out of action last week due to a hamstring niggle.

With Solomon starting on the bench, openside flank Eital Bredenkamp will captain the side, with Luke Stringer moving to the back of the scrum in the No.8 jersey and Conway Pretorius set to provide impact in the second half.A rotational switch at scrumhalf sees Godlen Masimla back in the starting line-up and Justin Phillips on the bench, whilst the only other change to the backline comes at left wing where Craig Barry makes his senior DHL Western Province debut in place of the injured Khanyo Ngcukana.

Dobson said that his team will have to be sharp if they are to continue their winning ways when they face their local rivals.

“These Cape derbies always bring out the best in both sides and we are certainly expecting a serious test from what will be a motivated Boland side.

“We know that there are a lot of areas we can improve on and I am looking forward to seeing what kind of impact the new players have out there this weekend,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Grant Hermanus, 14 Valentino Wellman, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Scott van Breda, 11 Craig Barry, 10 Brandon Thomson, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Luke Stringer, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Eital Bredenkamp (captain), 5 Eddie Zandberg, 4 Ruben de Villiers, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Dean Muir, 1 Wesley Adonis.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Frans van Wyk, 18 Nyasha Tarusenga, 19 Conway Pretorius, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Ernst Stapelberg, 22 Harlon Klaasen.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats