Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

DHL Western Province captain Chris van Zyl will earn his 50th cap in the Currie Cup encounter with the Tafel Lager Griquas at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Van Zyl leads a side that has been bolstered by the return of a number of players from Springbok duty for the clash which kicks off at 17h15 at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

Fullback Dillyn Leyds, inside centre Damian de Allende and tighthead prop Wilco Louw all come into the starting line-up.

Leyds will link up at the back with wings Seabelo Senatla and Werner Kok, with Ruhan Nel providing cover on the replacements bench.

De Allende forms a midfield partnership with Huw Jones, who shifts to outside centre with EW Viljoen ruled out through injury.

In the absence of Jano Vermaak who is being rested, Dewaldt Duvenage links up with Damian Willemse at halfback with Justin Phillips and Rob du Preez set to make an impact in the second half.

The only two changes to the forward pack come in the front row as Louw returns and Chad Solomon makes his first start of the Currie Cup campaign.

There are two further additions to the replacements bench, with hooker Dean Muir and loose forward Johan du Toit both getting an opportunity to make their Currie Cup debut for DHL Western Province.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is looking forward to playing at DHL Newlands again.

“We know that we have to raise our standards significantly and the players are excited to play at DHL Newlands again.

“It is great to have some players back from Springbok duty, but the focus is on delivering a convincing team performance,” he said.

In celebration of Heritage Day Crown National Foods will give away free Boerewors rolls to the first 250 children that visit their stand on the Castle lawns, while 2500 fans will receive spice sachets, and boerewors tasting will be available while stocks last.

DHL Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Werner Kok, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain, 50th DHL WP cap), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Johan du Toit, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Ruhan Nel.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats