Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

SA Select Women’s coach Eddie Myners on Tuesday included international halfbacks, scrumhalf Fundiswa Plaatjie and flyhalf Kirsten Conrad, in his starting team to face the England Academy in Aldershot in their second match on their UK tour on Wednesday.

Myners’ starting XV team shows five personnel changes and two positional switches from the team that beat the British Army 27-5 in their opening match.

Plaatjie and Conrad replace Felicia Jacobs and Vuyolwethu Maqholo respectively, while the other change in the backline is the inclusion of Bianca Meyer on the right wing, which forces centre Apiwe Ngwevu to the replacements bench with the halfback duo.

There were only two changes among the forwards with flanker Sinzao Mcatshulwa and No 8 Aseza Hele taking over from Lusanda Dumke and Charmaine Kayser respectively. Myners named 11 players on his replacements bench.

“Winning our first game was the perfect start to the tour, but the players know that this match will be much tougher,” said Myners.

“Our focus on Wednesday will be on retaining possession, ensuring that we apply pressure on them on attack and defence, and that we play in the right areas of the field.”

Commenting on the opposition, Myners said: “The England Academy are a quality outfit with Rugby World Cup experience in their ranks, so we are expecting a hard and physical battle.

“They will be very direct and they will try to gain ascendancy with their set pieces and good kicking game, while the English traditionally have had a good maul, so they will also want to test us in that department.

“We believe the key battles will be in the set-pieces and at the contact points.

“Our preparation, however, has been good and we are positive that if we stick to our plan we will play well,” added Myners.

SA Select Women’s team to face the England Academy:

15 – Snenhlanhla Shozi, Border

14 – Bianca Meyer, Blue Bulls

13 – Unathi Mali, Border

12 – Zinhle Ndawonde, KZN

11 – Nosiphiwo Goda, Border

10 – Kirsten Conrad, Western Province

9 – Fundiswa Plaatjie, Border

8 – Aseza Hele, Eastern Province

7 – Rights Mkhari, Limpopo Blue Bulls

6 – Sinazo Mcatshulwa, Western Province

5 – Amy-Kay Klaasen, Western Province

4 – Nolusindiso Booi, Border (captain)

3 – Babalwa Latsha, Western Province

2 – Annique Geswind, Western Province

1 – Asithandile Ntoyanto, Border


16 – Abigail Jantjies, Golden Lions

17 – Katlego Moremi, Blue Bulls

18 – Thuliswa Capa, Border

19 – Charmaine Kayser, Western Province

20 – Kamohele Makoele, Free State

21 – Felicia Jacobs, Western Province

22 – Vuyolwethu Maqholo, Western Province

23 – Megan Kannemeyer, Western Province

24 – Apiwe Ngwevu, Border

25 – Thandi Xwetu, Western Province

26 – Ncediswa Mahinjani, Western Province

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats