Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

Rassie Erasmus, the SA Rugby Director of Rugby, has named a squad of 28 players for the visit to Argentina, where the Springboks will face the Pumas in Mendoza next Saturday evening (SA time).

South Africa and Argentina meet on Saturday, 25 August, for the second time in as many weeks in the opening stages of the Castle Larger Rugby Championship. Yesterday the Springboks defeated the Pumas 34-21 in a bonus-point win in the first encounter between the sides in Durban.

Erasmus trimmed the forwards by three players, namely Jean-Luc du Preez (loose forward), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward) and Marvin Orie (lock). Uncapped flanker Cyle Brink underwent surgery earlier in the week to repair damage suffered to his injured knee.

Squad members Ross Cronje (scrumhalf), Jesse Kriel (centre) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing) are the three backs not travelling over to South America.

The Springboks have a recovery day on Sunday in Durban, while Siya Kolisi and the squad are due to fly out to Argentina on Monday morning.

Erasmus will announce his match day squad on Thursday and Saturday’s away match will be televised live on SuperSport 1 from 21h10 (SA time)

The Springbok travelling squad for the Castle Lager Rugby Championship match in Argentina (in alphabetical order – name and surname, franchise/club, Test caps and points):

Forwards (16):
Thomas du Toit (Prop, Cell C Sharks, 5, 0)
Pieter-Steph du Toit (Lock / Loose forward, DHL Stormers, 37, 20 – 4t)
Eben Etzebeth (Lock, DHL Stormers, 68, 15 – 3t)
Steven Kitshoff (Prop, DHL Stormers, 28, 5 – 1t)
Siya Kolisi (Captain – Loose forward, DHL Stormers, 32, 20 – 4t)
Francois Louw (Loose forward, Bath, England, 58, 45 – 9t)
Wilco Louw (Prop, DHL Stormers, 7, 0)
Frans Malherbe (Prop, DHL Stormers, 20, 0)
Malcolm Marx (Hooker, Emirates Lions, 15, 15 – 3t)
Bongi Mbonambi (Hooker, DHL Stormers, 17, 5 – 1t)
Franco Mostert (Lock, Gloucester, England, 21, 5 – 1t)
Tendai Mtawarira (Prop, Cell C Sharks, 102, 10 – 2t)
RG Snyman (Lock, Vodacom Bulls/Honda Heat, Japan, 3, 0)
Akker van der Merwe (Hooker, Cell C Sharks, 3, 0)
Marco van Staden (Loose forward, Vodacom Bulls, 1, 0)
Warren Whiteley (No 8, Emirates Lions, 18, 15 – 3t)

Backs (12):
Lukhanyo Am (Centre, Cell C Sharks, 4, 5 – 1t)
Faf de Klerk (Scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England, 15, 10 – 2t)
Aphiwe Dyantyi (Wing, Emirates Lions, 4, 15 – 3t)
André Esterhuizen (Centre, Cell C Sharks/Sanix Blues, Japan, 3, 0)
Elton Jantjies (Flyhalf, Emirates Lions, 26, 215 – 2t, 41c, 41p)
Willie le Roux (Fullback, Wasps, England, 44, 55 – 11t)
Makazole Mapimpi (Wing, Cell C Sharks, 2, 15 – 3t)
Lionel Mapoe (Centre, Emirates Lions, 13, 0)
Embrose Papier (Scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, 3, 0)
Handré Pollard (Flyhalf, Vodacom Bulls, 30, 250 – 3t, 44c, 46p, 3d)
Ivan van Zyl (Scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, 3, 0)
Damian Willemse (Flyhalf, DHL Stormers, 1, 0)

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats