Tweeter button
Facebook button

play slot games online at Slots Dad

Backline stars Damian de Allende and Sergeal Petersen both claimed two awards at the 2018 WPRFU Awards evening, held at the Cape Sun on Tuesday evening.

Petersen was rewarded for his scintillating form as top try-scorer in the Currie Cup this season with the DHL WP Most Promising Player award and the coveted DHL Players’ Player Award, while De Allende claimed the DHL Best Back and adidas MVP Award.

Forwards Steven Kitshoff (DHL Best Forward) Pieter-Steph du Toit (Brightrock Bounce Player of the Year) and Ernst van Rhyn (DHL WP Most Promising Forward) were also recognised, along with DHL Stormers captain Siya Kolisi, who claimed the LFP Award for Leadership, Focus and Passion.

In the DHL Western Province U19 team that will face Cell C Sharks in their semifinal in Durban this weekend, fullback Quan Eyman was named DHL WP U19 Most Promising Player, scrumhalf Lucky Dlepu the DHL WP U19 Best Back, prop Dian Bleuler the DHL WP U19 Best Forward and lock Ian Kitwanga claimed the Brightrock U19 Bounce Player of the Year award.

In the DHL Western Province U21 side that will host Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 in their semifinal at DHL Newlands on Saturday, lock David Meihuizen was DHL WP U21 Most Promising Player, scrumhalf Jondre Williams the DHL WP U21 Best Back, prop Kwenzo Blose the DHL WP U21 Best Forward and skipper Nama Xaba was the Brightrock U21 Bounce Player of the Year.

The top players in schools, club and women’s rugby were also recognised, with Stravino Jacobs named School’s Player of the Year, Cindy Booi the Women’s Player of the Year and Johan Momsen the Club Player of the Year. The DHL Western Province Women’s team claimed their second straight national title and were celebrated for this significant achievement.

Club rugby referee of the year was Nathan Barry and referee of the year was Rasta Rasivhenge.

Despite the challenges posed by the drought, it was another vibrant season of club rugby and the respective WPRFU Super League champions were duly honoured amongst a host of other club rugby awards. Maties were once again the top side in Super League A, while Paarl were Super League B champions and Macassar took top honours in Super League C.

WPRFU President, Mr Thelo Wakefield, paid tribute to all of the winners on the night.

“Congratulations to everyone who walked away with awards this evening – it has been another busy year for the union, with our players showing their worth at all levels of the game.

“The standards that we hold up in both amateur and professional rugby are testament to the many hours of hard work that are put in by rugby enthusiasts throughout Western Province,” he said.

The event was well attended on the night with the DHL WP Currie Cup team present, along with other key sponsors, players (seniors, juniors and club players), administrators and the local rugby media.


DHL WP U19 Best Forward: Dian Bleuler
DHL WP U19 Best Back: Lucky Dlepu
DHL WP U19 Most Promising Player: Quan Eyman

DHL WP U21 Best Forward: Kwenzo Blose
DHL WP U21 Best Back: Jondre Williams
DHL WP U21 Most Promising Player: David Meihuizen

BrightRock U19 Bounce Player of the Year: Ian Kitwanga
BrightRock U21 Bounce Player of the Year: Nama Xaba
BrightRock Senior Bounce Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit
Adidas MVP Award: Damian de Allende

DHL WP Best Forward: Steven Kitshoff
DHL WP Best Back: Damian de Allende
DHL WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Ernst van Rhyn
DHL WP Most Promising Senior Back: Sergeal Petersen

DHL WP Women’s Player of the Year: Cindy Booi
DHL WP School’s Player of the Year: Stravino Jacobs
Club Rugby Player of the Year: Johan Momsen
DHL Players Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen

* Not only were WP Rugby’s professional players awarded individual trophies based on their performances throughout the 2018 season, but the Western Province Rugby Football Union also recognised all club, junior, female and referees’ performances within the union this past year.


Super League A: Maties

Super League B: Paarl

Super League C: Macassar

City League (First round): Masiphumelele

Northern League (First round): Blue Stars United

Southern League (First round): Morning Star

Paarl League Winner: Albions

Simonsberg League Winner: Lamotte

Sunday League: Dolphins

Women’s League: Busy Bees Women

Paarl region (Bottom six): Simondium

Paarl region (Top six): Riverstones

Super League A Under-20: UCT

Super League B Under-20: Hamlets

Super League C Under-20: Kylemore

Club referee of the year: Nathan Barry

Referee of the year: Rasta Rasivhenge

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

News RUNNER UP in TWO categories! Lifestyle and Entertainment!
View My Stats